Home

One of the photographers who has influenced me more than any other is Sebastião Salgado. His social documentary photography is outstanding and his images have captured the world and its people in a way not seen since Ansel Adams. Its a style I have seriously tried to emulate.

Today I learn that revered German film-maker Wim Wenders has chronicled the life and works of Salgado in a movie and for me this is a must see film.

http://www.bbc.com/culture/story/20150319-turning-the-lens-back

“When I reached the edge of that enormous hole, in a split second I saw unfolding before me the history of mankind. The building of the pyramids, the Tower of Babel, the mines of King Solomon,” says Brazilian photographer Sebastião Salgado in a new film. The Salt of the Earth tells the life story of Salgado, who became famous after he photographed workers at the Serra Pelada gold mine.

I first saw Salgado’s work at the Natural History Museum at his exhibition ‘Genesis’. I was so impressed I saw some of these images again in London a year later at Beetles and Huxleys small gallery near Piccadilly.

926

The black and white images perfectly exposed and presented captured nature at its wildest and the ‘hunter gatherer’ tribes that live in these inhospitable places. Through his works we are offered a window into the past, a glimpse of the world as it was 100, 1000, 10000 years ago.

salgado

I await the films release date.

Leave a Reply

